Board cancels election for two spots

The Ector County Independent School District Board of Trustees approved cancelling the single member District Position 4 and Position 5 elections and certified the unopposed candidates as elected during their meeting Tuesday at George H.W. Bush New Tech Odessa.

Doyle Woodall holds Position 4 and Vice President Steve Brown is in Position 5. Election Day is May 6.

Board President Terri Ervin will face Delma Abalos for Position 2. Abalos has previously served on the school board. And Nelson Minyard, Position 7, will face UTPB professor Kay Ketzenberger.

In other business, the board recognized:

  • Wilson & Young Medal of Honor Middle School as the TSPRA (Texas School Public Relations Association) video contest winner; introduced the international baccalaureate diploma candidates from Odessa High School, which officials said was the largest one yet; recognized state qualifiers in the TAME (Texas Alliance for Minorities in Engineering), VASE (Visual Arts Scholastic Event), guitar, mariachi and powerlifting competitions.
  • In the consent agenda, the board approved campus turnaround plans; the Permian Basin Workforce Development Board scholarship agreement; and an interlocal agreement/TCC (Texas Computer Cooperative) service agreement for iTCCS (student-related software) to Region 18 Educational Service Center.