ECISD board to consider cancelling two board elections

The Ector County Independent School District Board of Trustees will consider cancelling the single member District Position 4 and Position 5 elections and certify the unopposed candidates are elected during their meeting set for 6 p.m. today at George H.W. Bush New Tech Odessa Cafeteria, 300 E. 29th St.

Doyle Woodall holds Position 4 and Vice President Steve Brown is in Position 5.

Board President Terri Ervin will face Delma Abalos for Position 2. Abalos has previously served on the school board. And Nelson Minyard, Position 7, will face UTPB professor Kay Ketzenberger.

In other business:

>> Special presentations will include the introduction of Wilson & Young Medal of Honor Middle School TSPRA (Texas School Public Relations Association) video contest winner; and introduction of international baccalaureate diploma candidates.

Also, recognition of state qualifiers in TAME (Texas Alliance for Minorities in Engineering), VASE (Visual Arts Scholastic Event), guitar, mariachi and powerlifting.

  • Request for approval of campus turnaround plans.
  • Request for approval of Permian Basin Workforce Development Board scholarship agreement.
  • Request for approval of interlocal agreement/TCC (Texas Computer Cooperative) service agreement for iTCCS (student-related software) to Region 18 Educational Service Center.