COLLEGE FOOTBALL: Lone Star Conference adds three teams for football

Central Washington University, Simon Fraser University and Western Oregon University are new affiliate members in football the Lone Star Conference announced Wednesday.

All three schools will begin play in 2022, boosting the number of teams to 10.

The incoming schools currently are members of the Great Northwest Athletic Conference, with Central Washington winning the title with an 8-2 overall mark and 4-0 in conference.

Simon Fraser is in Burnaby, British Columbia and is the only NCAA Division II program based above the border.

UTPB was scheduled to play Simon Fraser during the 2021 regular season.

That game was canceled due to COVID-19 travel restrictions from Canada into the United States at the time.