HIGH SCHOOL BASKETBALL: Carreon earns 2-6A Superlative

Odessa High’s Ivan Carreon was named the District 2-6A Defensive Player of the Year on the 2023 All-District 2-6A team selected by coaches.

Patton Pinkins of Wolfforth Frenship was the Player of the Year, teammate Jalen Braziel earned Offensive Player of the Year honors and and Tigers coach Paul Page was the district’s Coach of the Year.

Permian’s Race Herr, Ben Saldivar and Ryale Moses were first team selections, along with Odessa High’s Jordan Bruner and Jtorian Deary-Johnson.

Odessa High’s Justin Martinez was a second team choice.


All-District 2-6A


Player of the Year: Patton Pinkins, Soph., Wolfforth Frenship

Offensive Player of the Year: Jalen Braziel, Sr., Wolfforth Frenship

Defensive Player of the Year: Ivan Carreon, Jr., Odessa High

Newcomer of the Year: Christian English, Soph., San Angelo Central

Coach of the Year: Paul Page, Wolfforth Frenship

First Team

Ben Saldivar, Jr., Permian; Tate Beeles, Sr., Wolfforth Frenship; Jason Robinson, Sr., Midland High; Race Herr, Sr., Permian; Jacob English, Sr., Central; Jordan Bruner, Soph., Odessa High; Ryale Moses, Soph., Permian; London Rickett, Sr., Midland High; Jtorian Deary-Johnson, Soph., Odessa High; Kollin Albright, Jr., Central.

Second Team

Jaedyn Gibson, Sr., Central; Armani Gacanica, Jr., Wolfforth Frenship; Jordan Williams, Jr., Midland Legacy; Dwayne Bush, Jr., Midland High; Max Vera, Jr., Midland Legacy; Daniel Gedeon, Soph., Wolfforth Frenship; Justin Martinez, Sr., Odessa High; Jacoby Yates, Sr., Central; Dre Young, Sr., Central; Colin Brazzell, Jr., Midland Legacy.