Texas State Library and Archives Commission awards $1.13M in grants to Texas libraries

AUSTIN Starting this fall, 24 Texas libraries, including Ector County Library and Midland County Public Libraries, will begin or continue projects with funding from the Texas State Library and Archives Commission (TSLAC), a Monday press release announced.

Technology development, bookmobiles and courier services, career support, tools for promoting tech literacy and a wide range of other community programs are among the successful grant proposals recently approved by TSLAC. Agency commissioners awarded statewide library grants totaling $1,133,135.

The commission awards funding through several library grant programs focusing on special projects, technology, interlibrary resource collaboration, digitization efforts and more. The majority of funding for these local awards comes from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) in Washington, DC.

“The agency applauds the important and innovative work of Texas libraries, and we are glad to partner with public libraries and institutions of higher education throughout the state as they serve the unique needs of their communities,” said TSLAC Director and Librarian Gloria Meraz in the release. “These funds allow Texas libraries to respond to critical local needs with outstanding programs, services, educational support and technology services.”

“On behalf of the Commission, I am very excited to see the agency support these critical projects,” TSLAC Chair Martha Wong said in the release. “With funding from IMLS and support from TSLAC, Texas libraries continue to demonstrate how essential they are in providing transformational programs to the citizens whom we serve.”

The projects supported by these funds represent innovative programs and services that will enhance the ability of libraries to meet the informational, educational and economic goals of their communities. The grant period begins July 1, 2023, and will end June 30, 2024.

More information can be found at www.tsl.texas.gov/grants.

Recipient institutions:

  • Allen Public Library
  • Benbrook Public Library
  • Castroville Public Library
  • Celina Public Library
  • Corpus Christi Public Libraries
  • Dallas Public Library
  • Dickinson Public Library
  • Ector County Library
  • Ennis Public Library
  • Fort Worth Public Library
  • Grapevine Public Library
  • Judy B McDonald Public Library
  • Lancaster Veterans Memorial Library
  • Mammen Family Public Library
  • Midland County Public Libraries
  • Partners Library Action Network
  • Patrick Heath Public Library
  • Roanoke Public Library
  • Southern Methodist University
  • Texas A&M University Corpus Christi
  • The University of North Texas
  • Tom Green County Library System
  • Tye Preston Memorial Library
  • Victoria Public Library