Trustees approve new superintendent’s contract

The Ector County Independent School District Board of Trustees unanimously approved the contract and relocation agreement for new superintendent Scott Muri.
The board also approved hiring principals at three campuses — Cavazos, Travis and Bonham.
Muri’s base salary will be $295,000 a year. He officially starts July 1.
Relocation expenses will include reimbursing Muri up to $3,500 a month until he obtains a residence in the district or for up to a year, whichever occurs sooner, starting July 1, the contract said.
Muri said he stands on the shoulders of Interim Superintendent Jim Nelson. He added that he looks forward to working with the board and becoming a part of the team of eight.
Muri said he appreciates all the work that is going on in the district and he can’t wait to dive in and do good work for the students.
“Thank you for this honor and I can’t wait to get started,” Muri said.
The board also voted to extend Nelson’s contract by 30 days in lieu of Muri starting. Nelson is paid $22,000 a month.
Board President Doyle Woodall said Position 6 trustee Beaty requested to be part of the vote for Muri because he was part of the search process.
Tammy Hawkins was sworn in as the new Position 6 trustee by Municipal Judge Dennis Jones.
Vice President Donna Smith, position 3, and board member Carol Gregg, position 1, also were sworn in by Jones.
Amy Russell, currently instructional services director at Bonham Middle School, will be principal at Travis.
Amanda Montelongo, currently assistant principal at DeZavala Elementary School in Midland, will be principal at Cavazos; and Mitch Gerig, who is currently associate principal at Ector College Prep Success Academy will be principal at Bonham Middle School.
Judi Tarleton was approved as the Bonham Principal last month, but withdrew and is staying with Midland ISD.
Under special presentations, the Superintendent’s Student Advisory Council was recognized.
Each year a group of high school juniors and seniors, selected by the schools, meets regularly with the superintendent and members of his leadership team.
It includes from Permian High School, Kylee Corbell, Maryam Rajput, Joshua Smiley and Roberto Garcia.
And from Odessa High School,Parker Cherry, Carlos Garcia, Evette McClure and Mary Fox.
From George H.W. Bush New Tech Odessa, Ethan Baeza, Emilia Gutierrez, Auden Salazar and Andrea Liette Ruiz.
From Falcon Early College High School, Angel Benavides, Faith Eleby, Jocelyn Hernandez and Caleb Kirby.
And from OCTECHS, Wyate Coston, Courtnee Dunn, Jherman Morales and Sara Ryan.
Cristian Rodriguez from OCTECHS is the recipient of a scholarship from the Mexican American School Boards Association.
The mission of MASBA is to close learning gaps for all students in Texas public schools, especially for Latino students who comprise the majority of Texas public school students. MASBA awarded 93 scholarship winners this year — including OCTECHS senior Rodriguez.
As an honoree he is receiving a $250 check; a green, white and red cord to wear at graduation; and a certificate from MASBA.
He was recently recognized through ECISD’s Awards for Excellence. He walked the stage at Odessa College last Saturday after earning an Associate’s degree in Business Leadership. He plans to continue his education at Odessa College and the University of Texas Permian Basin to become an engineer.
At the beginning of the school year, the Geo Group Foundation called ECISD’s Communications Department and wanted to make a donation for a scholarship.
The students are Colton Roemisch from Permian High School and Bryson White from Permian High School.
Two students with perfect attendance for all 12 years of their school careers.
Each was offered $1,500 apiece toward their college education.
Top 10 students from OCTECHS are:
Jherman Morales; 2. Alecia Jade Mabry; 3. Destiny McGinnis; 4. Eilene Najera; 5. Fe Gypsy Joyce Quimbo; 6. Makayla Allison Welch; 7. Chantelle Jolie Vallejo; 8.Taryn Brown; 9. Brittney Kathleen Lucero; and 10. Leigha Grijalva.
Falcon Early College High School: 1.
Haley Lavergne; 2. Ashley Faith Tolentino; 3. Kiara Villagonzalo; 4. Angel Benavides; 5. Portia Ameyaw; 6. Alexis Castillo; 7. Jasmine Alolong; 8. Abigail Galvan; 9. Guadalupe Nabarrette; and 10. Glenn Diana Marie De La Peña.
George H.W. Bush New Tech Odessa:
Morena Leyva; 2. Cesar Montano; 3. Emilia Gutierrez; 4. Jesus Rodriguez Carrasco; 5. Annalisa Iniguez; 6. Hailie Zundt; 7. Brianna Amparan; 8. Sara Bolton; 9. Nelson Nabua; 10. Auden Salazar.
Odessa High School:
1. Carlos Garcia; 2. Kathryn Spickermann; 3. Iris Ramirez; 4. Nicholas Arenivas; 5. Jiovanni Jimenez; 6. Sydney Velasquez; 7. Alejandro Hernandez; 8. Jazmin Grijalva; 9. Aldo Silva; 10. Jazmine Arenivas.
Permian High School:
1. Marshall Wemmer; 2. Colton Higgins; 3. Brianna Dunston; 4. Sydnie Stewart; 5. Ryan Dominguez; 6. Christian Tschauner; 7. Criselle Velasco; 8. Haley Carrasco; 9. Bryson White; and 10. Minji Ko.