OA staffers win state awards

HOUSTON The Texas Associated Press Managing Editors met in Houston and awarded the state’s top journalism awards.

OA staffers won several awards including:

  • Mark Sterkel, second place in photojournalism and honorable mention in feature photography and third place in general news photography. Also, third place and honorable mention in spot news photography.
  • Corey Paul, first place in business reporting.
  • Ronald Bennett, third place in comment and criticism.
  • Laura Dennis, second place in editorial writing.
  • Justin Lee, first place in sports feature writing.
  • Royal McGregor, second place in breaking sports news.
  • Jacob Ford, second place in best photo gallery.