HIGH SCHOOL BASEBALL: Banks leads the way for Permian on District 2-6A honors list

Permian’s Teo Banks was named the District 2-6A Most Valuable Player on the 2021 All-District 2-6A team released this week.

Panthers head coach Tate Criswell also took home a superlative award as Coach of the Year after leading his team to an outright district championship.

Pitcher Ashton Coats, third baseman Xavier Melendez, shortstop Jake Glasman and designated hitter Caleb Boswell earned first-team selections for the Panthers.

Permian was also well-represented on the second team, as Cooper Golden, Cade Tschauner, Sebastian Bravo, Aleck Villa, Gus McKay and Peyton Gregory made the cut.

Midland Lee took home a trio of awards as Trevor Roper was named Defensive MVP, Casen Yonts earned Newcomer of the Year and Chase Shores was awarded Pitcher of the Year.