HIGH SCHOOL SOFTBALL: Seminole, Monahans earn honors on All-District 2-4A team

Kamryn Cottrell, Xyla Madry and head coach Gary Mayfield led the way for the Seminole softball team as part of the All-District 2-4A team that was released this week.

Cottrell was named the district’s most valuable player and Madry was named Co-Offensive Player of the Year with Bri Gonzales of Andrews.

Mayfield was named Coach of the Year for leading the Maidens to a district title.

Taryn Griner of Monahans was named the Defensive MVP and six other Lady Loboes earned first-team honors as part of the regional semifinalist team.

Andrews freshman pitcher Jacee Johnson was the Newcomer of the Year as the Lady Mustangs earned their fifth bi-district title in the last six years.