HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL: Pecos Football Coaching Candidates

In December, 2017, the Odessa American submitted a Freedom of Information request to the Pecos-Barstow-Toyah Independent School District asking for the names, job titles and resumes of candidates who had applied for the head football coaching opening, along with a list of coaches that were contacted by school district officials.

The school district did not provide the information, sending an appeal to the Texas Attorney General that the information was not public.

The Attorney General’s office denied the appeal in a letter dated March 28, 2018, informing the school district the information must be released. This type of information is always considered public.

Below is the list of candidates for the position, which was filled on Jan. 18 when the school district hired Christopher Jones, formerly the head coach at Giddings High School the past seven seasons.

List of Applicants

Name School District Position

Coy Barker Frost ISD AD/Football Coach

Charles Boles Lindsay ISD N/A

Michael Bowling West Rusk CCISD AD/Football Coach

Miles Brandon N/A

Shawn Brown Skidmore Tynan ISD Co-Defensive Coordinator

Scotty Bruington Floydada ISD Defensive coordinator/Head baseball coach

Russell Buzzard San Angelo ISD Assistant coach

Gabriel Camacho Mesquite ISD N/A

Raymond Carroll Sweetwater ISD Secondary coach

Cesar Castillo Donna ISD Defensive coordinator

Chase Copeland Anahuac ISD N/A

Antonio Cortez Hamlin ISD Assistant football/Head boys track

Brad Davis Grandview ISD AD/Head football coach

Mark DelPercio Fort Bend ISD Running backs coach

Dennis Diviney Fairbanks (Alaska) Northstar District Head football/Head track

Rodney Dowell Hallettsville ISD OC/Head boys basketball

Xavier Downs Lower Yukon (AK) School AD

Gary Durham N/A

Joaquin Escobar Northside ISD Offensive Coordinator

Ramiro Esparza El Paso DaVinci HS Assistant AD

Michael Fair Princeton ISD N/A

Daniel Fontenot Denver City ISD AD/Head football coach

Greg Fortner Amarillo ISD Offensive line coach

Eddie Gill Whitesboro ISD AD/Head football coach

Brian Hall Rice Consolidated ISD Offensive coordinator

Britt Hart Falls City ISD AD/Head football coach

Lee Hartsell Cedar Creek HS Offensive coordinator/Head powerlifting

Kevin Hatcher Kennedale Fellowship Academy AD/Head football coach

Justin Harvard Woodville ISD Offensive coordinator/Head track/Head powerlifting

Gregory Hodge Perryton ISD Assistant football coach

Joseph Hood Wellman-Union ISD AD/Head football coach

Terrence Isaac Green Oaks HS (La.) AD/Head football coach

Audie Jackson Willis ISD AD/Head football coach

Christopher Jones Giddings ISD AD/Head football coach

Jody Jordan Deer Park ISD Tight ends coach

Todd Korchenko Amarillo River Road ISD Offensive coordinator/Special teams

Jerry Malone Beckville ISD N/A

Aaron Manous Pampa ISD Offensive coordinator

Raymond Maxfield N/A

Chris McWilliams Big Spring ISD Assistant football/Head powerlifting

Nicolas Morales Lighthouse Academy (Ind.) N/A

Jerry Owens Jr. Dallas ISD Assistant football

Elias Payan N/A

Phillip Pettey N/A

Derick Price Pecos-Barstow-Toyah ISD Offensive coordinator/Head track

Nick Rigdon Waxahachie ISD N/A

Gary Robinson Krum ISD Former AD

Charles Ross Pecos-Barstow-Toyah ISD N/A

Howard Savell Willis ISD Offensive coordinator/Head powerlifting

Nathan Skelton Dumas ISD Offensive coordinator

William Stout Wasilla HS (Alaska) Head football coach

Douglas Tipton Frenship ISD Receivers coach

Frank Tobola Wortham ISD Defensive coordinator

Mitchell Wassom Henderson ISD N/A

Grady Welborn Livingston ISD Defensive coordinator/Head boys track

David Whaley Buena Vista ISD Head boys basketball

Lawrence Williams Blooming Grove ISD AD/Head football coach/Head powerlifting

Wayne Woodall Kermit ISD Offensive coordinator

Bradley Woods Memphis ISD AD/Head football coach

List of Candidates Contacted by Pecos-Barstow-Toyah ISD


Kevin Hoffman Mart HS

Kade Burns Mason HS

Jason Herring Refugio HS

David Yeager De Leon HS

Wade Lawson Joaquin HS

Darrell Daily Abernathy HS

Matt Lovorn Stratford HS

Matt Hill New Deal HS

Marty Murr San Augustine HS

Steven Cerny Shiner HS

Delbert Keim Crawford HS

Mitch Ables Hawley HS

Ronnie Casey Stamford HS

Jason Cole Thrall HS

Lance Connot Rivercrest HS

Wade Williams Wellington HS

Chad Lagrone Milano HS

Jeff Kasowski Bremond HS

Mark Kirchhoff Iraan HS

Denney Faith Albany HS

Brady Carney Muenster HS

Craig Horn Tenaha HS

Jason Hodde Burton HS

Britt Hart Falls City HS

Patrick Corcoran Munday HS

Russell Lucas Hamlin HS

Tony Cortez Hamlin HS

Clint Conkin Clarendon HS

Daniel Brittain Farwell HS

Steve Heryford Seagraves HS

Charles Boles Lindsay HS

Houston Guy Wall HS

Bo Robinson Yoakum HS

Tommy Psencik Hallettsville HS

Brad Davis Grandview HS

Chad Worrell Brock HS

Jamie Driskell Malakoff HS

Bryan Wood Shallowater HS

Antwain Jimmerson Jefferson HS

Mike Hedrick Franklin HS

Ty Robinson Woodville HS

Jeff Miller Rockdale HS

Stephen Hermesmeyer Comanche HS

Josh Finney Mount Vernon HS

WT Johnson Newton HS

Chris Koetting Canadian HS

David Lucio Tidehaven HS

Tim Russell
Harmony HS

Wade Bosse East Bernard HS

Jeff Cordell Sonora HS

John Frazier West Rusk HS

Jason Simis Childress HS

Brent West Cisco HS

James Morton Eastland HS

Whitney Keeling Waskom HS

Frank Johnson Holliday HS

Mike Waldie Daingerfield HS

Scott Surratt Carthage HS

Willie Williams La Vega HS

Todd Rogers Argyle HS

Richard Barrett Kennedale HS

David Gaskamp Midlothian Heritage HS

Jared Moffatt Van HS

Phil Castles Henderson HS

Mark Bell China Spring HS

Mark Shavers Lubbock Estacado HS

Kyle Cooper Gatesville HS

Michael Wood Kilgore HS

Greg Winder Stephenville HS

Danny Youngs Witchia Falls ISD

Charley Drum Comal ISD

Jeff Walker Liberty Hill ISD

Travis Reeve Cuero HS

Cornel Thompson West Orange-Stark HS

Kenny Davidson Graham HS

Matt Turner Gilmer HS

John Gibson Texarkana Pleasant Grove HS

Doug Warren Wimberely HS

Ben McGehee Sweetwater HS

Bill Elliott Celina HS

Kent Jackson Seminole HS

Darrell Barbay Jasper HS

Cliff Watkins Glen Rose HS

Seth Stinton Melissa HS

Randy Lynch Sweeny HS

John Bachtel Fairfield HS

Jowelt Hancock Rusk HS

Kirk Martin Manvel HS

Steve Wood Aledo HS

David Henigan Denton Ryan HS

Carl Abseck Cedar Park HS

Ryan Roark Angelton HS

Scott Stewart Temple HS

Phil Danaher Corpus Christi Calallen HS

Randy Allen Highland Park HS

Steve Huff College Station HS

Kirk Thor Mansfield Lake Ridge HS

Aaron Capps Drippings Springs HS

Jeff Rayburn Frisco Lone Star HS

Steven Van Meter Hutto HS

Joe Willis Colleyville Heritage HS

James Williams Fort Bend Marshall HS

Sean McAufliffe Converse Judson HS

Gary Joseph Katy HS

Terry Gambill Allen HS

Todd Peterman DeSoto HS

Mike Schmid The Woodlands HS

Hank Carter Lake Travis HS

Jeff Hulme Waco Midway HS

Drew Svoboda Klein Collins

Red Belvrens Garland Sachse HS

Reginald Samples Duncanville HS

Matt Meekins Westfield HS

Todd Dodge Austin Westlake HS

Craig Stump Humble Atascocita HS

Brent Davis San Angelo Central HS