HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL: Panthers, Bronchos earn honors on All-District 2-6A team

Permian receiver Shy Stephens-Deary and head coach Jeff Ellison took home superlative honors as the All-District 2-6A team was released Sunday.

Stephens-Deary was named the Offensive Newcomer of the Year, while Ellison was recognized Coach of the Year. The receiver was also a unanimous first-team selection and one of five Panthers earning first-team honors.

Midland Lee’s Mikey Serrano was named the district MVP and was also a unanimous first-team district selection at quarterback along with Permian’s Harper Terry and San Angelo Central’s Malachi Brown.

Permian linebacker Amarion Garrett was a unanimous first-team defensive selection with cornerback Corey McCoy and safety Kayden Baze also named to the first team.

Odessa High tight end Perry Gonzales and punter Aaron Hernandez earned second-team honors to lead the Bronchos. Nine Bronchos and seven Panthers were recognized as honorable mention.