Fort Hays State defeated UTPB 13-7 Sunday at Roden Field to complete a sweep of their season-opening college baseball series.

Jordan Wilkerson and Bryce Whitchurch each homered and drove in two runs for Fort Hays State, which led 5-0 after three innings and 9-1 in the sixth. Alex Weiss went 3 for 6 to lead the Tigers’ 15-hit attack.

UTPB’s Mike Fernandez went 3 for 5 with a double and one RBI. Skyler Palermo and Tony Oslovar each had a two-run double for the Falcons.

Fort Hays State starter Ben Ramberg (1-0) struck out eight over five innings for the win. He allowed three runs on five hits. UTPB starter Andrew Loudermilk (0-1) was charged with two earned runs on three hits over three innings in taking the loss.

The Falcons return to action when they host University of the Southwest at 1 p.m. Tuesday.


Fort Hays State 13, UTPB 7

 FHSU…………. 023  013 220   —   13    15     0

UTPB………….. 000  102 400   —     7      9     7

Ben Ramberg, Alex Ruxlow (6), Jake Vieira (7), Easton Palmer (8) and Jason Nicholson. Andrew Loudermilk, Ivan Thomas (4), Quinton Rockwell (7), Max Cook (8), Nick Bartley (9) and Cole Dickie, Keith Richards (8). W — Ramberg (1-0). L — Loudermilk (0-1). 2B — FHSU: Alex Weiss, Dayton Pomero, Ryan Grasser; UTPB: Mike Fernandez, Skyler Palermo, Tony Oslovar. HR — FHSU: Jordan Wilkerson (1), Bryce Whitchurch (1).

Records — Fort Hays State 3-0, UTPB 0-3.