CORPUS CHRISTI The Texas Associated Press Managing Editors met in Corpus Christi over the weekend and awarded the state’s top journalism awards.

Odessa American reporter Corey Paul won first place in the state’s Class 2A in the Star Investigative Report of the Year category, and won first place in the class’s Freedom of Information category, among other recognitions. Paul’s investigative award was for reporting on City Councilman Malcolm Hamilton and the FOI was for reporting on city attorney Larry Long’s harassment of an employee.

The Odessa American placed second in the Newspaper of the Year category in its class, while also taking second in the Online Newspaper of the Year contest in the class.

In addition, OA staffers won several other awards, including:

  • Publisher Pat Canty and editor Laura Dennis, second place in editorial writing.
  • Will Holford’s contributed columns, first place in comment and criticism.
  • Corey Paul, second place in deadline writing.
  • Corey Paul, second place in business reporting.
  • Justin Lee, second place in sports feature writing.

A complete list of recognized entries from across the state can be found at

Winning entries

The Odessa American’s entries recognized by the Texas APME in the state’s Class 2A include: