Texas Transportation Commission member and former chairman Tryon Lewis has resigned from his post.

Lewis, who is also an attorney, former district judge and state representative, served for seven years in the Texas Legislature and three years on the Transportation Commission. He was chairman for two and a half years before being replaced by J. Bruce Bugg Jr. of San Antonio.

Lewis said his resignation was effective as of 5 p.m. Thursday.

TxDOT is governed by the five-member Texas Transportation Commission and an executive director selected by the commission. Commission members serve overlapping six-year terms and are appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the Texas Senate, the Texas Transportation Commission website said.

“I served for about 10 years going back and forth to Austin,” Lewis said.

He did not run for reelection to the legislature with the idea that he would spend more time with his law practice at Atkins, Hollmann, Jones, Peacock, Lewis & Lyon Inc. And if permission was granted, he would serve as a senior judge and be able to try cases on assignment.

That plan was interrupted when the governor called and asked Lewis to serve on the Transportation Commission. “The governor is a very hard person to say no to,” he said.

He said he wasn’t expecting to serve the entire six years as chairman.

Lewis said he got through a restructuring of the Texas Department of Transportation and the sunset process and restoring credibility with the legislature while he was chair.

He added that Bugg has a background in finance which is needed more now.

Lewis said he feels no resentment about being replaced as chairman.

“I think I did a good job. It all worked out well,” he said.

Lewis said he felt now was a good time to step away. He noted that being on the Transportation Commission is an intense job involving a lot of travel and frequent meetings and events.

Lewis said he loved being in the legislature and on the commission and admired the people he met at TxDOT.

More Information