Hospital board votes to keep current chair

After another round of heated discussions Tuesday night, Ector County Hospital District board members voted to keep Mary Thompson as the current board chair.

In a 4-3 vote, board members Richard Herrera, David Dunn and Ben Quiroz voted in favor of keeping Thompson board president while Bryn Dodd and Mary Lou Anderson voted in favor of Don Hallmark. The board then unanimously voted Hallmark to be the executive committee member.

Prior to the vote for board president, Hallmark listed reasons why he felt the board needed new leadership, leading to a string of back and forth comments between Herrera, Dodd and Quiroz.

Accusations of disrespectful conduct were voiced about board members on both sides of the vote, while attempts to defend fellow board members often led to further bashing.

Dunn and Anderson remained quiet for most of the meeting, aside from Dunn making a motion for Hallmark to be named executive committee member.

The special meeting, which only included the two items, lasted about 20 minutes.