ALPINE Fourteen new members were initiated into the Zeta Delta Chapter of the Kappa Delta Pi International Education Honorary Society at Sul Ross State University.

Ceremonies were held May 11 in the Morgan University Center.

New initiates and their hometowns are:

  • Alpine: Kimberly Melendez
  • Carrizo Springs: Jose Cantu
  • Del Rio: Raul Hurtado
  • El Paso: Amber Strach, Maria Wong
  • Marfa: Elizabeth Livingston
  • Midland: Andrea Delacruz, Rebecca Graham
  • Mission: Arturo Anzaldua
  • Presidio: Anai Moreno
  • San Antonio: Jill Tamborello
  • Tornillo: Victor Garcia
  • Xingquing District, China: Haifen Wang
  • Santa Teresa, N.M.: Mathew Castor

Graduation cords were presented to: Graham, Cantu, Strach, Livingston, Tamborello and Moreno, as well as Samuel Aguilar, Presidio; Samantha Banegas, Alpine; Aaron Clevenger, Omaha; and Dominique Lopez, El Paso.

Jeanne Qvarnstrom, counselor for the organization, and Ricky Shubert, Big Spring, chapter president, presided. Jimmy Case, Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, made brief remarks and awarded certificates and graduate cords. Rebecca Garcia, Alpine, was installed as president for the 2018-19 academic year, succeeding Shubert, who was elected vice-president.

The Society inducts individuals who have exhibited the ideals of scholarship, integrity in service, and commitment to excellence in teaching and its allied professions. Selection as a member of Kappa Delta Pi is based on high academic achievement, a commitment to education as a career, and a professional attitude that assures steady growth in the profession.

Founded in 1911 at the University of Illinois, Kappa Delta Pi is the largest honor society in education, representing 582 undergraduate and professional chapters and more than 45,000 active members. Its most distinguished members over the last century have included Margaret Mead, Albert Einstein, George Washington Carver, and current leaders in education Howard Gardner, Maxine Greene, and Carol Gilligan.