Board to consider salary increases

To create a more competitive salary structure, Ector County ISD recently completed a Texas Association of School Boards salary study and trustees will consider the recommendation at their 6 p.m. meeting Tuesday in the first-floor board room of the administration building, 802 N. Sam Houston Ave. COVID protocols are in place.

TASB made recommendations for a general pay increase and targeted adjustments to better align our systems.

Salaried employees would receive a 3% increase, while hourly employees will receive a 4% increase.

Additionally, the hourly minimum pay will begin at $12.

A one-time “Invest in Talent” stipend will be provided to all staff who are working on the first day of classes, Aug. 10.

Supplemental agenda material said the general pay increase and targeted adjustment recommendations “will provide a more competitive salary structure when competing with other districts and the area markets for all positions.”

“TASB will continue to provide yearly maintenance reviews to assist in aligning our systems to ensure we maintain a competitive and sound compensation plan,” the material said.

On a separate item, consideration and acceptance of the Chapter 313 Property Tax Valuation Limitation application will be presented. Acceptance of the application does not bind the district into entering a contract with the applicant, but provides the option to consider the application and potential future contract for a Chapter 313 agreement for property value limitation and revenue on Quail Run Carbon LLC, the material said.

The Texas Comptroller’s website said Tax Code Chapter 313 is an appraised value limitation is an agreement in which a taxpayer agrees to build or install property and create jobs in exchange for a 10-year limitation on the taxable property value for school district maintenance and operations tax purposes.

The minimum limitation value varies by school district.

>> Special presentations include recognition of Executive Directors for Leadership Alicia Press and Roberto Cedillo being accepted to the National Superintendents Academy; recognition of the Scripps Regional Spelling Bee Champion; announcement of Memorial Scholarship Awards; and introduction of the top 10 graduates.